Philosophy Hurts Your Head

The blog of a cranky Philosophy PhD Student from Newcastle, Australia.

Ugh

Posted by Sam D on January 17, 2005

It’s early. And wet. And not in a good way.
On a happier note, I have stopped obsessing over determinism today. I might just be a pile of protein and fat wandering about the universe in some bizzare permutation of the laws of physics, but today, I don’t give a rats arse. So what if my decisions might be the outward effect of charged particles floating across synapses, in patterns set according to my previous interactions with my environment? I am comforted to think that when I’m accused of being indecisive, it simply means that my brain has not in the past recived enough positive feedback either way to form a solid loop. Not that I would advise using this line of reasoning with someone accusing you of being indecisive, especially a spouse/partner. They will most likely tell you that you are full of crap.
I’m still fretting over causality again.
Bugger.

In true Vogon style, I will punish the universe later with some poetry.

Smile, and then enjoy the delusion that you actually made the decision to do that just now.

Leave a Reply

 
